A Journey begins in DevOps...

A Journey begins in DevOps...

Hello! I am a junior Linux System Administrator and a DevOps Engineer.

Before getting into tech, such an introduction for anyone would make me go "Woah!! I don't know when I can be like that". Honestly, it would feel that I am left behind and people have really exceeded in tech, and I don't know how much time is it going to take for me.

But after having completed 1 year in tech, I can say that we all are learning, progressing, making mistakes and learning form them (on loop), and YES!! anyone who has the skill can get into tech. It might take time but learning is all we should focus on and try to our best.

"When any real progress is made, we unlearned and learn anew what we thought we knew before."

Henry David Thoreau

kelly-sikkema-9OGNpJPVMZ8-unsplash.jpg

The way I started my journey was learning many concepts and doing hands on practice on the job. I used to write my learnings on a notebook or a notepad. I did not align my learning in a proper way, did not cover things comprehensively, so basically there were gaps here and there.

After procrastinating for some time, I have now decided to learn things from the very scratch and document them either in a blog, or in a twitter feed. The aim is to learn concepts myself so that I can refer them at any time in future and to help out the other people who are starting their tech journeys!

alison-wang-mou0S7ViElQ-unsplash.jpg

I will be learning the following

  1. Linux and fundamentals
  2. Git and Github
  3. Apache
  4. Tomcat
  5. AWS
  6. Jenkins
  7. IaC (Infrastructure as Code)
  8. Containers with Docker
  9. Terraform
  10. Kubernetes

This will take time and it's okay to take time. All we need to make sure is that we take those small steps and keep learning, experimenting and documenting.

Another important thing while learning tech is networking and learning in public, and the best platform out there for this is Twitter. Can't stress enough that if you follow the right people, they will help you and keep you motivated through this long and sometimes tiring journey.

“Failure is success in progress.”

Albert Einstein

Now with all this said, learning roadmap defined, we start taking those steps and try our best to complete this journey with happiness, uplift ourselves and the people around us.

Let's go!